Kevin Speer, JD, Receives Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

Kevin Speer, JD, Given Distinguished Award


Photo courtesy of Crossroads of America Council, Boy Scouts of America.

Your IAFP Executive Vice President, Kevin Speer, JD, was given the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (DESA) on Thursday, June 12. The DESA was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition within their field and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. 

Requirements for receiving the award include: having attained the Eagle Scout rank, accomplishment of significance in one's career and a solid record of continued community volunteer involvement. Only 1 in 1,000 of all Eagle Scouts have been presented with this prestigious award! 

Notable past recipients of this award include: 

  • Mark D. Miles, 2010 
  • Richard G. Lugar, 2001 
  • Beurt R. SerVaas, 1997
  • Most. Rev. Daniel M. Buechlein, 1994 
  • Steve Goldsmith, 1993 
  • Randall T. Shepard, 1992 
  • Frank L. O'Bannon, 1990
  • Jerry D. Semler, 1987

Congratulations, Kevin!